Iconic models

Exceptional masterpieces that revolutionized fine watchmaking.

SAS Polerouter :

Designed in 1954 by Genta at the age of 23, this is Gerald Genta’s first legendary contribution to watchmaking. The SAS Polerouter was commissioned by Universal to commemorate the historic flight from Copenhagen to Los Angeles via the North Pole. The first watches were given to the cabin crew of the Scandinavian Airlines Systems (SAS) upon landing in LAX.

Constellation :

In 1959, Omega asked Gerald Genta to review, refresh and renew their strategic Constellation range which was their flagship collection. It is thanks to the Maestro’s renewal of this range that the watchmaking company has been very well ranked for so many years. It was from the design of this piece that Gerald Genta began to be perceived as a “star designer”.

Royal Oak :

In 1970, the House of Audemars Piguet approached the designer for a watch that would become the brand’s most iconic piece: The Royal Oak. Inspired by a vintage diving helmet attached to the rest of the suit with screws, the model was sketched in one night only. He transferred the octagonal shape to the design of this piece, keeping the screws on the bezel. The Royal Oak was the first luxury sports watch to be made of steel. This was the first time in the history of modern watchmaking that this material was considered as a precious metal. The Royal Oak was revolutionary.

Nautilus :

Upon the request of Phillippe Patek in 1976, Gerald Genta designed an exceptional piece, still considered today as a benchmark. Similarly, to the Royal Oak, it too was inspired by the nautical world, but this time taken from the portholes of the transatlantic ships. The watch was named Nautilus in tribute to Captain Nemo’s submarine in Jules Verne’s novel “20,000 Leagues Under the Sea”. As the story goes, he sketched the watch in five minutes on a paper napkin in a restaurant. This new steel watch, with a soft-angled bezel, is the subtle balance between sport and elegance. It remained in production for 30 years.

IWC Ingénieur :

Yet another example of luxury watch that could not have been created without the key contribution of Gerald Genta. Launched in 1976, the designer gave it a unique and incomparable touch of five screws on the bezel. Although its design has evolved since, Gerald Genta’s mark will always remain preeminent, even on the latest editions of the IWC Ingenieur. Equipped with an antimagnetic protection, this watch was intended for professionals working near magnetic fields, hence the name “Ingenieur” (meaning engineer).

Bulgari Bulgari :

The design of the famous Bulgari-Bulgari bears its roots in the ancient Roman coin. From this, Gerald Genta designed a watch that would become an emblem for Bulgari, even impacting on the style of other brands. The purity and simplicity of this model translated into a huge success. The impact of Bulgari-Bulgari, initially Bulgari-Roma, was considerable.

Gefica Safari :

This watch was made in 1984 following a request from three safari hunters. The name of this piece comes from the aggregation of the first two letters of each of the hunter’s names (Geoffroy, Fissore et Canali), spelling GEFICA. This model designed in bronze, with moon phases and a compass, quickly became an icon in the world of watchmaking, eventually inspiring different versions. The revolutionary use of bronze for the covering solved the problem of hunting visibility as this material did not reflect the sunlight.

Walt Disney Editions :

In the eighties, Gerald Genta obtained a license exclusively from the Walt Disney company to design limited edition watches, which incorporated iconic characters such as Mickey Mouse, Donald Duck or Minnie Mouse, confined to 18 carat gold and then steel casing. This range, entitled ‘Fantasy’, was defined by high-precision watch mechanisms.

Octogonal watch :

This octagonal cased wristwatch, created in 1991, bears a typical and very recognizable shape associated with the Gerald Genta brand. A skeleton dial indicating the moon phase at noon in a blue enamelled disc, the month on three o’clock, the date on six, and the day on nine. Perpetual calendar, minute repetition. A very original and recognizable bracelet.

Retrograde watch (1994) :

In Gérald Genta develops a new way of reading time by associating two complications (jumping hour and retrograde minutes) in the same movement and on the same dial. This is a first in the history of watchmaking. This inventive model with the original dial is later to be enriched with many different versions.

Grande Sonnerie :

In 1995, after five years of research and development, Gérald Genta unveiled the Grande Sonnerie, the wristwatch considered to be the most sophisticated and complex in the world. This watch was a first in many ways, in particular it included more than a thousand spare parts. Minute repeater, Westminster four-hammer chime, perpetual calendar, dual power reserve display, this watch is a true masterpiece.

Square Gerald Charles Maestro Tourbillon :

Five years after the launch of his brand, the designer introduced the Square Tourbillon Maestro in 2006. It was the result of an innovative concept designed to highlight the ‘Ballet’ of movements, a tourbillon suspended through a transparent timepiece. With Maestro, a subtle combination of watchmaking know-how and contemporary design, Gerald Genta conceived a bold creation that can be admired from all angles.

Modèles Emblématiques

Des pièces d'exception qui ont réinventé la haute horlogerie

SAS Polerouter :

Dessinée en 1954 par Gérald Genta à l’âge de 23 ans, cette montre est sa première contribution mythique à l’horlogerie. La SAS Polerouter est commissionnée par Universal afin de commémorer le vol historique de Copenhague à Los Angeles en survolant le pôle nord. Les premières montres ont étés données à l’équipage de cabine de Scandanavian Airlines Systems (SAS) lors de l’atterrissage à LAX.

Constellation :

La firme Omega demande à Gérald Genta en 1959 de revoir, rafraîchir et renouveler sa gamme stratégique Constellation qui était sa collection phare. C’est grâce au renouveau de cette gamme par le Maestro que la société horlogère a pu figurer dans le peloton de tête pendant de nombreuses années. A cette occasion, Gérald Genta a commencé à être perçu comme un « designer star ».

Royal Oak :

En 1970, la Maison Audemars Piguet approche le designer pour dessiner la montre qui deviendra la plus emblématique de la marque : la Royal Oak. Il esquissa le modèle en une seule nuit en s’inspirant d’un plongeur qui portait un ancien casque de plongée rivé au reste de sa combinaison par plusieurs vis. De ce concept, il en transposa la forme octogonale en conservant la visserie sur la lunette. La Royal Oak était la première montre de sport de luxe fabriquée en acier, première fois qu’il était considéré comme un métal précieux dans l’histoire de l’horlogerie moderne. La Royal Oak marqua une révolution dans l’industrie des montres de prestige.

Nautilus :

À la demande de Philippe Patek en 1976, Gerald Genta dessina une montre d’exception considérée encore aujourd’hui comme une référence. Un peu comme pour la Royal Oak, il fut inspiré par le monde nautique, mais cette fois ci par les hublots des transatlantiques. La montre fut baptisée Nautilus en hommage au sous-marin de capitaine Nemo dans le roman de Jules Verne « 20 000 lieues sous les mers ». L’histoire dit qu’il l’aurait dessinée en cinq minutes sur une serviette en papier au restaurant. Disposant d’une lunette avec des angles adoucis, cette nouvelle montre en acier représente un équilibre subtil entre sport et élégance. Elle restera plus de 30 ans en production.

IWC Ingénieur :

Cette montre de luxe est à nouveau l’une de celle pour laquelle Gérald Genta a joué un rôle déterminant dans sa longue histoire. Avec le lancement en 1976 de la légendaire IWC Ingénieur SL, le designer lui a donné une signature unique et inimitable comprenant notamment cinq vis dans la lunette. Même si son design a évolué par la suite, la griffe de Gérald Genta reste prééminente, y compris sur les éditions les plus récentes de la IWC Ingénieur. Dotée d’une protection antimagnétique, cette montre était surtout destinée surtout à un milieu professionnel qui travaillait à proximité de champs magnétiques, d’où le nom d’« Ingénieur».

Bulgari Bulgari :

Le design de la célèbre Bulgari-Bulgari trouve son origine dans une pièce de monnaie ancienne romaine. Gérald Genta puisa dans cette idée l’inspiration pour dessiner une montre qui deviendra un emblème de Bulgari et exercera une immense influence sur le style d’autres marques. La pureté et la simplicité de ce modèle se traduiront en un immense succès. L’impact de la Bulgari-Bulgari, initialement Bulgari-Roma, sera considérable.

Gefica Safari :

Cette montre fut créée en 1984 à la demande de trois chasseurs pour leurs safaris en Afrique. De la fusion des deux premières lettres de leurs patronymes respectifs (Geoffroy, Fissore et Canali) est né son nom : GEFICA. Ce modèle conçu en bronze, avec phases de lune et boussole, est devenu rapidement une icône dans le monde de l’horlogerie et a ensuite donné naissance à différentes déclinaisons. L’utilisation révolutionnaire du bronze pour l’habillage relevait du souci d’invisibilité, car sans aucune brillance, ce matériau permettait de ne pas refléter la lumière du soleil.

Walt Disney Editions :

Dans les années 80, Gérald Genta obtient une licence exclusive de la Walt Disney Company pour imaginer des montres aux complications raffinées en édition limitée, qui reprennent quelques personnages iconiques comme Mickey Mouse, Donald Duck ou Minnie, enfermés dans des boîtiers en or 18 carats puis en acier. Cette gamme dénommée ‘Fantasy’ contient des mécanismes d’horlogerie de haute précision.

Montre Octogonale :

Cette montre bracelet au boitier octogonal, créée en 1991, est une forme typique est très reconnaissable de la marque Gérald Genta. Cadran squelette avec indication de la phase de lune à midi dans un disque émaillé bleu, du mois à trois heures, de la date à six heures et du jour à neuf heures. Quantième perpétuel, répétition minutes. Bracelet très original et reconnaissable.

Montre Rétrograde (1994) :

Gérald Genta développe une manière inédite de lire le temps en associant dans un même mouvement et sur un même cadran deux complications (heure sautante et minutes rétrogrades). C’est une première dans l’histoire de l’horlogerie. Ce modèle inventif au cadran original s’enrichit par la suite de nombreuses versions.

Grande Sonnerie :

En 1995, après 5 ans de recherche et de développement, Gérald Genta dévoile la Grande Sonnerie, la montre-poignet considérée comme la plus sophistiquée et complexe au monde. Cette montre fut une première à plus d’un titre, en particulier elle comprenait plus d’un millier de pièces détachées. Répétition minutes, carillon Westminster à quatre marteaux, quantième perpétuel, double affichage de la réserve de marche, cette montre est une performance absolue.

Gérald Charles Maestro Tourbillon Carrée :

5 ans après le lancement de sa marque Gérald Charles, le célèbre designer présenta en 2006 la Tourbillon Maestro Carrée, issue d’un concept novateur visant à mettre en majesté le ballet des mouvements, notamment un tourbillon suspendu à travers un garde-temps transparent. Avec Maestro, alliage subtil du savoir-faire horloger et d’un design contemporain, Gérald Genta signe une réalisation audacieuse se laissant admirer de tous côtés.